Anuja Patil Gets Out For Obstructing The Field. Twitter Is Divided - BSYnews.com

Breaking

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

hellooo

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Anuja Patil Gets Out For Obstructing The Field. Twitter Is Divided

India got defeated by Bangladesh in the Asia Cup finals yesterday. The match was a nail-biting one and till the last ball, it was worth seeing who will win.
In every match, some or the other controversy happens; in yesterday’s match, it was Anuja Patil’s run-out. Yes, there was a debate surrounding “Obstruction of field” rule. In the 9th over, Anuja Patil and Harmanpreet Kaur were batting.
There seemed to be a mix-up between the two; Anuja returned to the crease and there was a slight change in her direction. The fielder tried to throw the ball on the stumps, but it hit Anuja’s leg. She returned to the crease & got safe.
Bangladesh appealed that Anuja had obstructed the field. There were many replays & after that, 3rd umpire gave her an out.
Here’s the ICC rule;
37.1.1 Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).
Twitter is divided over this decision; some feel that the decision was wrong.
How did this happen?
Not out!
Anuja Patil - "Obstructing the field!"
A rare dismissal: as Anuja changes direction while running back, gets in the way of the throw.

🇮🇳 32/4 after 8.2.
🇧🇩 eyeing the 🏆 now.
Are you kidding?
Yahi baaki tha?
This is rare!
Anuja Patil has been declared out obstructing the field in the Asia Cup 2018 final
Rare dismissal

Now that you watched the video, what do you feel? Was the decision fair enough?

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here